• 1950 Football Team2016 inductee to the "Wall of Fame" in the Koplitz Fieldhouse, was led by head coach Frank DiNapoli and assistant Dick Mason.  The Indians finished the season with a 9-0 record and as the highest rated B team in the final state Associated Press rankings.  It also won the school’s first league championship in football in five years, as well as its first undefeated season since 1932.

    The team was led on the field by all-everything senior captain Stewart Crook.  Crook, who eventually went on to become a three-year letterman at the University of Washington, set the state scoring record in 1950 with 167 points.  His 45-point effort in a 51-6 win against Naselle still stands as a school record.  He was also selected to play in the All-State game in Spokane in the summer of 1951. 

    The Indians did not surrender a point in their first three games – a 13-0 win over Valley, 37-0 victory over Naselle, and a 26-0 win over O’Dea (when Crook scored all of the points despite having three touchdowns nullified by penalty).  After defeating Ilwaco 20-7, three close wins over Elma, Ilwaco, and Valley (surrounding the lopsided victory over Naselle) set the stage for the season finale with arch-rival Raymond.  Raymond led for most of the contest before an Indian touchdown in the final minute gave South Bend the victory and secured the undefeated season.

    Players on the 1950 team were:  Doug Allen, Don Bailey, Larry Beck, Bob Bishop, Tom Coma, Stewart Crook, Al Davis, Fred Dracobly, Franklin Duty, David Frank, John Gabriel, Gary Gibbons, Mel Gibbons, John Gill, Fred Gray, Dick Green, Leo Hads, Clark Hamer, Phillip Hawks, Lawrence Hicks, James Major, Mike McNamara, Charles Mills, Howard Moe, Kenneth Mullins, Melvin Padgett, Evan Prior, Bill Raschkow, Edgar Rhoades, Allan Robinson, Buzzy Russell, Herby Slingerland, Chuck Smith, Jerry Sowers, Herschel Standifer, Ron Taylor, Dale Walthers, Tom Wolleson, Ernest Woodfield.